Easy and Cheap Chicken Parmesan Recipe

If you are like me, you love a great home cooked meal! Bonus points for being budget friendly and a hit with the children (and husband)! I snagged this recipe from my best friend’s mom. I tweaked it and added a few little things myself. This recipe is SUPER easy and delicious! It is actually one of my husband’s favorite dishes! He literally begs me to make this! Another bonus, is it is still delicious leftover!

I purchased everything for this recipe from Aldi. If you are unfamiliar with Aldi, you need to familiarize with them! They have quality products at a fraction of the cost of the same products found at other stores! I will discuss Aldi in a future blog. The products do not have to come from Aldi, but it will make this meal even cheaper!

Ingredients needed:

Chicken breast (I like thing or trimmed breasts) thawed

Italian Bread Crumbs
Eggs (2)
Your favorite spaghetti sauce
Mozzarella Cheese, shredded
Parmesan Cheese (powdered or real)

First, I  pre-heat my oven to 350 degrees and grease my baking dish. I just use a glass one, that has a lid that fits over it, for easy leftover storage. I do not have a certain size recommendation. If you use a larger pan, you will just need more sauce/cheese/chicken.

parm

 

Rinse your chicken breasts and then coat with an egg wash. I just use 2 eggs and whisk, before dipping chicken/ You can use egg and milk if you wish. I like to use thin chicken breasts so they cook faster! parm2

After you coat with egg, dip into a dish of the Italian Bread crumbs. Do not use too many bread crumbs, because you can NOT re-use the crumbs once you are finished, but you can always add more crumbs if needed. I like to add parmesan cheese to my bread crumbs. I usually just use the powdered type you see in the green containers, but tonight I actually had some real shredded parmesan cheese.


I place each coated breast in the greased glass plan. I have mine touching, just so when I cut into it, there is chicken in every corner! Do not overlap chicken breasts, to ensure they cook through evenly.

I then place the chicken in the oven and cook for 30-40 minutes. I tend to cook longer (40 minutes) to make sure it is cooked all the way through. I am always paranoid about undercooked chicken!

After you take it out of the oven, pour a jar or desired amount of  spaghetti sauce on top of the chicken breasts. If you do more than a jar, you will need to cook for a longer period of time. Add shredded Mozzarella cheese on top of the sauce, then place back in the oven for an additional 15 minutes. Once I do this I like to start boiling my spaghetti noodles. I add olive oil and a dash of salt to my water. This gives it a slight flavor and keeps the noodles from being sticky!

When the 15 minutes are up, take it out of the oven and make sure the chicken’s internal temperature is at least 165 degrees!

Your kitchen will smell DELICIOUS!!  I forgot to get a photo of the finished dish before I annihilated it with the meat thermometer and cutting some up for our children.

Our children love this dish! I cut a chicken breast into little pieces and then spoon sauce over the noodles for myself and my 3 girls. My husband loves to just throw a huge breast and sauce over noodles! Whatever works for you! This pairs well with some garlic bread and salad! We also enjoy this meal left over.

Leave a comment